Local Time:

Related Links
Click " Folder Icon" icon to expand menu.



Health Director
Mary Gomez, MN

 

Contact Us

health@cochise.az.gov
 

Toll Free
1-800-423-7271

 

Benson   
126 W. 5th Street 
Benson, AZ 85602

(520) 586-8200

 

Bisbee  

(Main Office)
1415 Melody Lane Bldg. A 
Bisbee, AZ 85603
(520) 432-9400


Douglas  
1012 North G Avenue Ste 101
Douglas, AZ 85607
(520) 805-5600
 

 

Sierra Vista  

4115 E. Foothills Drive
Sierra Vista, AZ 85635
(520) 803-3900


Willcox 
450 S. Haskell Avenue
Willcox, AZ 85643
(520) 384-7100
 

Cochise Health & Social Services

Birth Certificate Eligibility

Who may order and obtain a certified copy of a birth certificate?  **Only persons 18 years of age or older may obtain a certified copy of a birth certificate.**

Note: An applicant presenting documents from a foreign country as proof of relationship or proof of legal interest must provide certified copies of the documents. Photocopies are not acceptable. The applicant must also provide a certified translation of the documents.

Arizona is a "closed record" state. That means that vital records are not public record. Arizona law restricts the public's access to vital records as follows to protect the confidentiality rights of our citizens. Arizona Administrative Code R9-19-403 specifies that only the following may receive a certified copy of a birth certificate: 

Detailed Eligibility Descriptions:

Registrant

The registrant is eligible to receive a certified copy of their birth certificate if all of the following criteria are met:

  1. The registrant is over 18 years of age.
  2. The registrant submits a signed application.
  3. The registrant provides valid government issued identification or notarized signature on the application.
  4. The registrant submits the appropriate fee(s).

 

Parents

Parents of a child are eligible to receive a certified copy of a birth certificate if all of the following criteria are met:

  1. The parent is named on the birth certificate.
  • A father who is not named on the birth certificate is eligible if he provides a court order naming him as the father of the registrant
  • If the court order provided directs the Office of Vital Records to add the father to the child's birth certificate, the certificate must be amended to include the father before the certificate is issued.
  1. The parent submits a signed application.
  2. The parent provides valid government issued identification or notarized signature on the application.
  3. The parent submits the appropriate fee(s).

 

Spouse

The spouse of a registrant is eligible to receive a certified copy of his/her spouse’s birth certificate if all of the following criteria are met:

  1. The spouse provides a notarized letter of permission signed by the registrant. If the letter is not notarized, a copy of the registrant’s valid government issued identification must be presented along with the letter.
  2. The spouse/applicant provides one document that supports the claim that the applicant is eligible e.g marriage certificate, bank statement, vehicle registration, utility bill with both registrant and spouse names etc.
  3. The spouse submits a signed application.
  4. The spouse submits valid government issued identification or notarized signature on the application.
  5. The spouse submits the appropriate fee(s).

 

Grandparent

The grandparent of a registrant is eligible to receive a certified copy of his/her grandchild’s birth certificate if all of the following criteria are met:

  1. The grandparent must provide;
  1. The birth certificate of their child, the parent who is named on the registrant’s birth certificate or
  2. If the grandparent’s child (mother or father named on the registrant’s certificate) was born in Arizona, provide the name and date of birth of that child for verification in the EBS.
  1. The grandparent submits a signed application.
  2. The grandparent submits valid government issued identification or notarized signature on the application.
  3. The grandparent submits the appropriate fee(s).

 

Adult Child

The adult child of a registrant is eligible to receive a certified copy of his/her parent’s birth certificate if all of the following criteria are met:

  1. The adult child must be at least 18 years of age.
  2. The adult child must:
  1. Produce a copy of his/her birth certificate which names the registrant as the parent of the applicant or
  2. If the adult child was born in Arizona, a search can be done on the EBS for the adult child’s record to verify the record names the registrant as the parent of the applicant.
  1. The adult child submits a signed application.
  2. The adult parent submits valid government issued identification or notarized signature on the application.
  3. The adult child submits the appropriate fee(s).

 

Adult Brother or Sister

The adult brother or sister of a registrant is eligible to receive a certified copy of his/her sibling’s birth certificate if all of the following criteria are met:

  1. The adult brother or sister must be at least 18 years of age.
  2. The adult brother or sister must:
  1. Produce a copy of his/her birth certificate which shows at least one common parent shared by the applicant and registrant or
  2. If the adult brother or sister child was born in Arizona and a search can be done on the EBS for the adult brother or sister’s record to verify at least one common parent is shared by the applicant.
  1. The adult brother/sister submits a signed application.
  2. The adult brother/sister submits valid government issued identification or notarized signature on the application.
  3. The adult brother/sister submits appropriate fee(s).

Guardian Having Legal Custody or Control of a Minor Child

The guardian of a minor child is eligible to receive a certified copy of his/her birth certificate if all of the following criteria are met:

  1. The guardian must:
  1. Provide a copy of the Order for Permanent Guardianship of the minor registrant or
  2. Provide a copy of the Order for Temporary Guardianship of the minor registrant and the application is filed within the timeframe of the temporary order.
  1. The guardian submits a signed application.
  2. The guardian submits valid government issued identification or notarized signature on the application.
  3. The guardian submits the appropriate fee(s).
 
Foster Parents

The foster parent of a minor child is eligible to receive a certified copy of his/her birth certificate if all of the following criteria are met:

  1. The foster parent must:
  1. Provide a letter on letterhead from the Child Protective Services caseworker which states the child is still in the care of the foster parent, along with a photocopy of the caseworker’s government employee identification.
  • The letter must state the child’s name, date of birth, and foster parent’s name.
  • The letter must be signed by the caseworker.
  • The letter must be dated within the last 30 days or 
  1. Provide a copy of the Order for Temporary Guardianship of the minor registrant and the application is filed within the timeframe of the temporary order.
  1. The guardian submits a signed application.
  2. The guardian submits valid government issued identification or notarized signature on the application.
  3. The guardian submits the appropriate fee(s).

Attorney Representing the Registrant

The attorney of the registrant is eligible to receive a certified copy of the registrant’s birth certificate if all of the following criteria are met:

  1. The attorney must submit a letter of request on his/her letterhead stating their professional relationship to the registrant or registrant's parent if the registrant is a minor, signed by the attorney and containing the attorney’s bar number.
  2. The attorney must provide documentation stating the attorney has been retained by the registrant.
  3. The attorney submits appropriate fee(s).

 

ATTORNEY REPRESENTING THE BIOLOGICAL PARENT(S) IN AN ADOPTION PROCEEDING
The attorney representing the biological parent(s) in an adoption proceeding is eligible to receive a certified copy of the registrant’s birth pre-adoption birth certificate if all of the following criteria are met:

  1. The attorney must submit a letter of request on his/her letterhead stating their professional relationship to the registrant's parent, signed by the attorney and containing the attorney’s bar number.

Arizona Administrative Code R9-19-402.A.2 states the request, if submitted by mail, must be notarized or the applicant shall submit a clear photocopy of a valid identification issued by a federal, state or local government. However, after consultation with the Office of Vital Records’ legal counsel, this requirement has been waived for attorneys and court personnel.

   2. The attorney must provide documentation stating the attorney has
       been retained by the registrant or the registrant's parent if the 
       registrant is a minor (retainment letter) or the attorney can
       have the biological parent(s) complete the Office of Vital Records' birth
       application and instruct the parent to enter the attorney's name and
       address on the application in the mailing address field. A copy of the
       parent's valid government issued picture Identification must be included
       with application or the parent must sign the application in the presence
       of a notary. The application must be signed by the birth parent.

   3. The attorney submits appropriate fee(s).

 

ATTORNEY REPRESENTING THE ADOPTIVE PARENT(S) IN AN ADOPTION PROCEEDING
The attorney representing the adoptive parent(s) in an adoption proceeding is eligible to receive a certified copy of the registrant’s birth pre-adoption birth certificate if all of the following criteria are met:

  1. The attorney must submit a letter of request on his/her letterhead
      stating their professional relationship to the adoptive parent(s), signed
      by the attorney and containing the attorney’s bar number.

Arizona Administrative Code R9-19-402.A.2 states the request, if submitted by mail, must be notarized or the applicant shall submit a clear photocopy of a valid identification issued by a federal, state or local government. However, after consultation with the Office of Vital Records’ legal counsel, this requirement has been waived for attorneys and court personnel.

   2. The attorney must provide certified copy of a court record evidencing
     an adoption is pending and that the attorney represents the adoptive
     parents. If the court records are not available, the attorney can have
     the birth parent complete the Office of Vital Records’ birth application
     and instruct the parent to enter the attorney’s name and address on the
     application in the mailing address field. A copy of the parent’s valid
     government issued picture identification must be included with application
     or the parent must sign the application in the presence of a notary. The
     application must be signed by the birth parent.

   3. The attorney submits appropriate fee(s).

Note: The private attorney representing the adoptive parents(s) may request a certified copy of the amended birth certificate at the time the final order of adoption is submitted to the Office of Vital Records (OVR).
The request must be in application format or on the attorney’s letterhead, contain the attorney’s state bar number, and contain the attorney’s signature.
  

Adoption agencies REPRESENTING ADOPTIVE or biological PARENTS
Adoption agencies representing the adoptive or biological parents of a registrant are eligible for a certified copy of the registrant’s birth certificate if all of the following criteria are met:
  1. The adoption agency must provide a certified copy of court records  
      which establish:
         a. An adoption of the registrant is pending.
         b. The agency or private attorney represents the adoptive or  
             biological parent(s).


Note: If the court records are not available, the adoption agency can have the birth parent complete the Office of Vital Records’ birth application and instruct the parent to enter the adoption agency’s name and address on the application in the mailing address field. A copy of the parent’s valid government issued picture identification must be included with application or the parent must sign the application in the presence of a notary. The application must be signed by the birth parent.

   2. Requests from adoption agencies must be on agency letterhead, stating
       their professional relationship to the adoptive or biological parent(s),
       and must contain a notarized signature, or a signature along with a

       photocopy of the signer’s valid government issued photo identification.

   3. The adoption agency or private attorney submits the appropriate fee(s).

 

Persons or Agencies Empowered by Statute or Appointed by a Court to Act on the Registrant's Behalf

The applicant or agency must provide:

  1. A certified copy of court records or other documentation that establishes the applicant is authorized to act on the registrant’s behalf.
  2. A signed application.
  3. The applicant’s valid government issued photo identification or notarized signature on the application.
  4. The applicant submits the appropriate fee(s).

 

Genealogical

A genealogist is eligible for a certificate that is NOT public record if all of the following criteria are met:

  1. The applicant establishes a relationship to the individual whose record they are requesting
  • Acceptable types of credible documentation to establish relationship: Birth certificate, Death certificate, Marriage certificate.
  • Non-acceptable types of documentation to establish relationship: Pedigrees, Lineage charts, Family trees.
  1. The applicant submits a signed application.
  2. The applicant provides valid government issued identification or notarized signature on the application.
  3. The application submits the appropriate fee(s).

 

A genealogist requesting a certificate that IS public record does not need to establish relationship to the individual whose record they are requesting but must submit the following:

  1. A signed application
  2. The applicant provides valid government issued identification or notarized signature on the application
  3. The appropriate fee(s).