Alternative to Prosecution Programs
Adult Diversion is responsible for supervising all adult deferred adjudication cases, including felonies and misdemeanors. For more information you can contact our office at email@example.com.
Money Orders should be addressed and sent to:
Cochise County Attorney Adult Diversion Program
P.O. Drawer CA,
Bisbee, AZ 85603
- Adult Diversion Application Materials (PDF)
- Adult Diversion Report Form (PDF)
- Community Service Timesheet (PDF)
- Online Adult Diversion Report Form
The GRACe program is an alternative to traditional prosecution for defendants who are afflicted by a Mental Health Issue. Defendants who participate in the GRACe Program will be connected to appropriate services. Once the defendant has successfully completed their treatment plan (as determined by a medical or mental health professional) their case(s) will be dismissed.
If you have any questions or need further information contact Krist-Anah Watkins at 520-432-8700.
- Grace Program Compliance Report
- Defense Attorney Case Review Request
(Please Note: you must be logged in to the website to access.)
Bad Check Program
This program has been very successful in assisting merchants to reduce the number of bad checks they receive. The program has processed numerous bad checks over the years.
We invite you to use the links provided below for additional information, or you may also contact the Bad Check Program Coordinator at (520) 432-8700 weekdays (except legal holidays) between 9:00 a.m. and 4:30 p.m.
The Cochise County Attorney's Office offers its Bad Check Enforcement Program to individuals and businesses alike. There is no cost to use the program, which will attempt to collect the total face value of the check(s) and any reasonable expenses incurred by the holder. In addition, the program holds the check writer responsible for costs for collecting and processing the check(s) as provided by A.R.S. § 13-1809(C)(D)(E).
It's a Crime
Writing a bad check in Arizona is a crime, and for first-time offenders, the crime may be charged as a Class 1 misdemeanor. In some cases, first-time offenders may be charged with a class six felony depending on the amount the check was written for. Those who have a history of passing dishonored checks may face felony prosecution for crimes such as theft or fraudulent schemes.
If you or your business receives a bad check, send a notice to the check writer, informing them that the check has been returned unpaid. If you hand-deliver the notice, the check writer has 12 days to submit payment to you. If you mail the notice, the check writer has 17 days from the mailing date to make full payment. You may add a reasonable fee of up to $25 per check for returned check costs. If the fee is more than $25.00 you will be required to explain why if the court inquires. If you intend to add a fee in excess of $25.00 you are encouraged to keep all receipts you may have to justify the extra charge. Please do not accept a partial payment, as this may be considered a loan by you and will nullify criminal prosecution of the check writer.
If, after giving proper notice, you do not receive payment within the required time limits and the check meets program guidelines, you may submit the check to the Bad Check Program for enforcement. You should read and become familiar with the requirements for submitting the dishonored check to us by downloading and reading “Bad Check Program Guidelines (PDF)” under “Resources” above.
Arizona Revised Statute 13-1802(A) reads, "A sentence to pay a fine for a class 1 misdemeanor shall be a sentence to pay an amount, fixed by the court, not more than two thousand five hundred dollars." In addition to the fine imposed the court may order restitution and other fees.
A.R.S. § 13-1810(A) Provides the Consequences of nonpayment of fines, restitution or incarceration costs. If an order of restitution is not paid the court may require the defendant to show cause why his/her default in payment should not be considered a contempt of court and may issue a summons or warrant for the defendants appearance.
Penalties for a conviction of a felony vary depending on the crime charged. However, a conviction of a felony may expose the offender to all or any part of fines, fees, restitution, imprisonment in the County Jail or the Arizona Department of Corrections, probation and/or community service.